Master Cleanse: an underdogs tale of getting back on the horse

Many of you may have heard of a detox diet called the “Master Cleanse”. If you aren’t familiar with such, it’s also referred to as the “lemonade diet”. The mere existence of this cleanse is polarizing to some as many believe it can be looked at as a form of torture…even starvation. I, on the other hand, look at it as a challenge. 

Before we get into this, let me just tell you that Ryan (my fiancée) is home now after being away for 3 years. We are living together and in my attempt to woo him I have actually spent the better part of my meal planning making the most delicious-health unconscious food ever. 

All the cheese and all the butter…everywhere. 

With that being said, I simply cannot continue on the way I’ve been going because I have gained weight. Let me just say that the “freshman 15” when you’re 25 is not cute and makes me awfully uncomfortable in my own skin…again. 

Let’s continue. 

The Master Cleanse is an all liquid cleanse where you mix 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, 2 tablespoons of organic, Grade B Maple Syrup, and 1/10 teaspoon of Cayenne pepper to 8 ounces of water…6-12 times a day. You also use laxative teas, and salt water (non-iodized) to help distribute and eliminate toxins. 

If you already have a negative opinion of this after reading the above, I can’t really blame you. Though, I do ask that you leave this page because I ain’t got time for that! Haha! I do understand the concerns that surround such a fast but this is something that I’m passionate about and I am hoping this will ease my way into a vegan diet. 

What am I worried about?

#1: Coffee. Recently I’ve been hugely dependent on my daily cup of morning Joe. That being said, I’m scared for thie withdrawal that will ensure as I wean myself off the good stuff. I can do it. I haven’t been that into coffee until recently but my newfound love is going to be tough to overcome. In the next week and a half I will begin weaning myself off coffee by replacing my coffee consumption with tea, until I begin this cleanse. I don’t want to get into this cleanse with a caffeine addiction because detoxing AND caffeine withdrawals sounds about as miserable as you can get. 

#2: Failing. This one is really only an internal opinion and something that only I can control and I tend to be much harder on myself than I should be. Not eating for ANY amount of days is HARD. I don’t care who you are…the mental strength it takes to overcome such an addiction like the one I have with food is almost impossible. I want to love myself more than I love food. I want more women to love themselves. I don’t think not eating is something that will necessarily help with that but for me this isn’t about losing weight, it’s about breaking the bonds of this prison I’m in. A food prison. I’m a slave to my own addictions and I’m ready to be done with it. I’m just scared that I won’t be able to do myself justice like I imagine I should. 

#3: Weight gain. This may seem ridiculous, of course I’m not going to gain weight…I’m not eating. I’m not nervous of the weight I’m going to lose throughout the duration of this cleanse but I’m nervous at the thought of gaining it back. I really want this to be a jumpstart to a healthy future and lifestyle. To jump into this without the hope that I lose some weight is absolutely ridiculous! Of course I hope to lose weight. If it were up to me, I’d lose 60 lbs and never turn back. I need to be happy and a part of me feels the desire to see that happiness in the form of a skinnier, brighter, more clarified me. 

I guess that’s really all for now. I’ll be providing my personal stats here in another post tomorrow because I really want to begin the phase-in process 8/21-9/02. This will give me plenty of time to ease into this extreme cleanse. I’ll provide a schedule, measurements, weight and pre-cleanse photos. It should be interesting and I’m very excited to see how this goes! Please tune in and let me know if you’ve done anything like this before!

Thanks for reading! To be continued!!

[a]

Leave a comment