Everything I’ve Known…

I just watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead – the story of Joe Cross, a businessman who is overweight, living day to day the average, convenience-centered lifestyle most are. He was sick and aware of the fact that if he continued down the path he was on he would wind up dead before he had really lived loved his life.

Joe went on a 60 day Juice Fast to reboot his health and immune system, get off his medication and live happier.  For me, the portion of this that really struck a cord is how confident he was on his journey.  The documentary really doesn’t follow some lost and self-destructive man, though I thought that was the story I was about to watch but someone that is positive and eager. Joe is nothing but hopeful and sure that what he was embarking on would end in the results he was expecting. I was thrilled to watch his and Phil’s journey and even more excited to start my own.

The part I’ve been struggling with is the fact my Mom has done this for the last 4 years of her life.  Not fasting but taking on a plant based diet and making nutrition/diet her primary concern to heal her body inside and out. She has done an AMAZING job.  I mean, she is a different person – even my Dad has changed and that is a feat in itself. She has beaten breast cancer and turned her life around, literally taking years off her life.

The struggle for me is that it’s taken me this long to come to my senses. I am sitting on a wealth of knowledge and I have turned my cheek to the help, to the support, to the endless mental and material goods I would receive living where I live. I almost feel like I should apologize to my beautiful mother for not heeding her advice much sooner. I guess it’s alright and at some point I need to stop and get over beating myself up…it’s not going to help and it’s only going to push me further from my goals. I can be the me I’ve always dreamed of and Joe has really broken through the surface of my own toxic mind, inspiring a true and genuine want for change.

I am determined to make this change and for that reason, I have scheduled one of Joe’s REBOOTS! I couldn’t be more excited to push my body to it’s limits and find myself again. I am planning to record and document as much of this process as I can and I am so excited to share my experiences with you.  Please write to me and let me know what your doing or even hope to do to change your life.  It takes that one step…that one leap of faith to get you back on track. Here is your sign.

You are loved just the way you are.

Until next time,

[a]

Leave a comment